Album Review | AUGUST BURNS RED |Rescue & Restore


WORDS BY: Mikee Chevalier

Released: June 25th, 2013 via SOLID STATE RECORDS

As soon as rescue and restore kicks off, you’re greeted with the relief that August Burns Red hasn’t done something stupid with their signature sound. Provision promises that ABR hasn’t changed, but rather slowly grown from messenger’s bearly distiguishable breakdown crammed style to leveler’s lead control that gave ABR their new unique sound. It however, is also exemplary of how much they try to pack into one song. It’s easy to get lost in most of the songs, let alone the whole album since it’s common that part of a song only lasts say 10 seconds. Listening to the whole album at once gets a little tiring when every couple seconds something new is happening.

“Provision” and “Treatment”, while great by themselves, change too often and take too much effort to listen to before you can even get to “Spirit Breaker”. Spirit breaker’s beginning, middle and end (not to mention the emotion put into the spoken word segment closer to the end) set it far apart from the rest of the album. “Count It All As Lost” is a bit better too, but there’s still too much happening. The song almost immediately breaks out into blast beats, then into a breakdown, then into one of those signature ABR lead guitar riffs, then more blast beats, then another break down, then it softens up into one of those dance lines that appear in “Leveler” and now here. While this is all good and great, they really haven’t spent much time as of yet preparing the listener for upcoming parts. Even what build up they do have into whichever one of the handful of breakdowns it is in “Count It All As Lost” lasts for all of maybe 3 seconds. It’s just not enough to really build up emotion, especially when transitioning from an already relatively heavy part.

It’s rinse and repeat up until that rather fantastic breakdown in “Fault line”, Followed up by “Beauty in Tragedy”. Once again exemplary of a beginning  middle, and end in a song rather than making it too complicated to follow. As much as there is going on, transitions are extremely well thought out, and the spoken word segment builds up beautifully into that signature ABR sound that follows. There’s also a persistent guitar lead, which makes it feel like one single song, which has surprisingly proven an issue thus far. And then “Animals” plays. Not too crowded, well lead into, persistent lead guitar, it’s all there and it doesn’t stop. “Echoes” has it all too, if not more so. You actually get to enjoy more than 10 seconds at a time of whatever is going on, and boy do you enjoy it. Echoes is a new level of ABR, it’s heavy, melodic, and it far less spastic and twitchy. Too bad though, it would’ve been a perfect way to end the album.  Instead, Rescue And Restore wraps up with “The First Step”, a thrashier track. While not as crowded as some others on the album, it still isn’t means for much enjoyment. There isn’t really any significant part of the song to look forward to other than maybe the guitar solo if you’re into that, but otherwise has no emotional high point. Finishing off with “The First Step” rather than “Echoes” is a shame. They could have had it all if this track simply wasn’t there.

As an album, It’s not too bad. There are a handful of great songs, but too many complicated ones throughout the album as well. As a whole when listened to it becomes a bit tiring, but individually there are enough great songs to make the album entirely worth buying. Still, if you love that unique ABR sound then this album is for you and you’re going to love it, because it’s packed full of it, and I mean full. Too full.

Buy Rescue & Restore here

01 – Provision
02 – Treatment
03 – Spirit Breaker
04 – Count It All As Lost
05 – Sincerity
06 – Creative Captivity
07 – Fault Line
08 – Beauty In Tragedy
09 – Animals
10 – Echoes
11 – The First Step

Check out the lyric video for “Spirit Breaker” here:

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: