Words By: Dylan McAteer

Released: February 18, 2014 via Rise Records

Issues have released their debut studio album through Rise Records. The self-titled album, originally scheduled for release in late 2013, was carefully crafted and reworked to give the best experience.

A much-anticipated release with the addition of Josh Manuel on drums, the band was set on their style and direction. So that left the question of what they were going to release and how would it shape the bands future?

Like all great works, plenty of time and effort were put into this album. That becomes abundantly clear upon listening from start to finish.

“Mad At Myself” is the second song off the release and is a personal favorite of mine. The vocals are extremely well done and fit so perfectly with the instrumentals.  They lean more on the clean vocals in this track, which offers a different feel from the rest of the album. The album lacks consistency but that’s actually what makes it so epic. When I say that I mean that they offer plenty of variety and avoid monotony.

“Late” is another great song that starts out with a soft electronic beat and some clean vocals. It acts as a lead in for the instrumentals which really amps up this tune and really attracts the listener. This track definitely leans more to the electronic side than other songs on the album, but that’s what makes it stand out. With more cleans coming on this track the album shifts to “Old Dena (By Scout)”, which acts as a transition into more scream based vocals in “Stingray Affliction”.

Closing out the album is “Disappear (Remember When)”, which really encapsulates the best elements of the album and puts them on display. With more instrumentals than electronics and a solid balance of vocals this track is a great note to end on. The gradual closing winds down the pace and leaves you in the wake of a great musical experience.

All and all Issues did a wonderful job on their debut studio album, which certainly isn’t easy to do. The fact that they are such a young band and were able to put forth such great work really shows their potential.

You can catch them at Sound Academy in Toronto on February 22 and 23 as part of The American Dream Tour with Bring Me The Horizon, Of Mice & Men and Northlane. SOLD OUT.


  1. Sad Ghosts
  2. Mad At Myself
  3. Life Of A Nine
  4. The Langdon House
  5. Late
  6. Old Dena (By Scout)
  7. Stingray Affliction
  8. Never Lose Your Flames
  9. Personality Cult
  10. Tears on the Runway Pt. 2 (Ft. NY.LO.)
  11. The Settlement
  12. Disappear (Remember When)

Watch the Music Video for “Stingray Affliction” on YouTube:

Listen To “Mad At Myself” on YouTube:

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: