CONCERT COVERAGE: MACHINE HEAD | The Danforth Music Hall, Toronto

Words & Photography by: Sabrina Città

Machine Head is a heavy metal band from Oakland, California that formed in 1991 by Robb Flynn (lead vocals and guitarist) and former bassist Adam Duce. They were set to take the stage on Tuesday February 4th at The Danforth Music Hall in Toronto and play two sets. One with current band members and one with past band members playing their album Burn My Eyes in its entirety. 

As the lights began to dim at around 7:30pm at The Danforth Music Hall, you could hear the fans in the crowd began to chant, “Machine F*ckin Head, Machine F*ckin Head” and then current members Robb Flynn, Jared MacEachern, Matt Alston and Wacław Kiełtyka took to the stage. The crowd went wild as they walked out. They began with their song “Imperium” off their 2003 album Through the Ashes of Empires. They played a wide variety of their songs off several different albums throughout the first set.
At one point Robb paused and spoke about how January had been a really sad month for them all in the music world, with the passing of Rush’s drummer Neil Peart and Corrosion of Conformity’s drummer Reed Mullin, who was a friend of the band as they had toured together in the past. They then brought the first set to a close with the song “Halo” and took a quick 10 minute break.

As the crowd waited, you could see the stage backdrops start to change to imagery from the Burn My Eyes album and more and more people entered the building in anticipation for original members Chris Kontos and Logan Mader to join the stage to play Burn My Eyes from beginning to end. This was in celebration of it being released 25 years ago. You could hear the crowd began to chant, “Machine F*ckin Head, Machine F*ckin Head” again and they appeared on stage. Robb kept up his energy and amped up the crowd again as they immediately began playing the album that everyone was there to hear. There were so many epic high jumps from Logan and Jared while they were performing and before the last song of the album they played a medley of songs covering Metallica, White Zombie, Exodus and Slayer. Such an amazing evening and I am so happy I got to witness this little piece of metal history. 

  1. Imperium
  2. Take My Scars
  3. Now We Die
  4. Beautiful Mourning
  5. Locust
  6. I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)
  7. Aesthetics of Hate
  8. Darkness Within
  9. Catharsis
  10. From This Day
  11. Ten Ton Hammer
  12. Is There Anybody Out There?
  13. Hallowed Be Thy Name (Iron Maiden cover)
  14. Halo

Burn My Eyes

  1. Davidian
  2. Old
  3. A Thousand Lies
  4. None but My Own
  5. The Rage to Overcome
  6. Death Church
  7. A Nation on Fire
  8. Blood for Blood
  9. I’m Your God Now
  10. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) [Metallica] / One [Metallica]  / Thunder Kiss ’65 [White Zombie] / Strike of the Beast [Exodus] / South of Heaven [Slayer] / Raining Blood [Slayer]
  11. Block

Machine Head

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.